top of page
Anchor 1
  • Maria Zam

Discovering Delightful Santorini

Updated: Jan 23, 2023

A trip to Santorini was one of my most memorable trips but it’s also a trip from which no footage survived till today. Which is a pity because I thoroughly chose my outfits for that trip and looked amazing in my white dress and hat with the blue domes of Santorini in the background. You can imagine how picturesque the island is by the amount if proposals, engagements and weddings that take place there. I have no photos but luckily, I can still rely on my memory.

Santorini memorabilia diary

Some surviving travel souvenirs


You might think that an island vacation is perfect for a lazy holiday. It actually is but if you are more into active exploring, Santorini has a lot to offer. You can rent a scooter or take a bus and explore all the towns of the islands, surprisingly they look quite different even though they are so close to each other. On the island of just 90.7 sq.m. you can find beaches with 3 types of sand: black, white and red.

Santorini Greece map

A famous archeological site called Akrotiri is also located in Santorini. No matter how much you are fond of archeology, it’s really exciting to explore the ancient town of the bronze Age. Continuing the archeological topic: in the capital of the island, Fira, you can visit a great archeological museum that exhibits lots of amazing items including those found in Akrotiri. Attending both the site and the museum will give you a better and clear picture of the place and its history.


Near Akrotiri you can take a boat that will take you a secluded beach with red sand. The boat trip felt exciting until the moment the boat stopped about 7 meters away from the shore and we had to disembark right into the sea holding our bags above our heads. Imagine someone who can’t swim and is afraid of water (me!). Coincidence or not, a couple of hours after we arrived to this beach I made my first serious and successful attempts to swim. I still can’t swim but that time at the red beach I was close to acquire this skill more than ever before or after.

Santorini red beach

The red beach


A skill that I have really acquired in Santorini is cooking saganaki shrimps. I cook them from my memory but here is the closest step by step recipe that I found. Another exciting culinary discovery is that in Santorini they add cinnamon to moussaka, an eggplant casserole, which I knew and loved before the trip but never thought how adding cinnamon could improve its taste.


I must mention that Santorini is the only place I have seen in Greece so it’s hard to compare and give recommendations but I suspect Santorini won’t disappoint you even if you saw everything else in Greece already.


Santorini embroidery

Santorini inspired me to make this embroidery

16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Anchor 2
bottom of page