top of page
Anchor 1
  • Maria Zam

Fields of Tulips and Rivers of Beer

Soon after I graduated and found a good job I planned and executed my first independent trip. And, of course, I wanted it to be something exciting and memorable. So, I chose to attend a flower parade in the Netherlands. Eleven years after I still remember this trip very well: exploring Amsterdam and its amazing architecture, visiting Rijksmuseum and soaking in the Keukenhof garden. And obviously attending the flower parade itself.

Amsterdam city
Amsterdam
Flower Parade

Each year the parade has a specific topic, in 2012 it was ‘communications’ which was a funny coincidence because I worked in telecom industry at that moment. It’s a great pity no photos of the parade survived till today apart from this excerpt from my travel diary that you can see below. But I don’t need to look at those photos to remember the level of excitement I had on this day. For someone who equally loves travel and flowers, visiting a Dutch flower parade is a huge event.

Dutch flower parade

Keukenhof Garden

If you don’t fancy the idea of going to a Flower Parade or if you love flowers so much that one parade isn’t enough for you, consider visiting the Keukenhof garden. It is a huge garden with over 7 million flower bulbs situated outside Amsterdam, in the municipality of Lisse. Since it showcases spring flower only, it is open for a short period of time: since end of March till mid-May. Keukenhof is an endless source of inspiration for gardeners and creative people, and I did my bit by making this embroidery:

floral embroidery painting

Keukenhof flower garden
Keukenhof
Sightseeing in Amsterdam

Back at the time I wasn’t an experienced traveler, and I missed many opportunities. For example, I didn’t know that I can take a bunch of flowers onboard a plane otherwise I would arrive home with a heap of fresh tulips. Also, for some reason, that I don’t remember, I didn’t visit Van Gogh Museum.

On the other side I had a chance to visit Heineken beer museum and had a lot of fun there with a guided tour that explains the brewing process and a 4-D film experience. I’ve also been to the Amsterdam Zoo and Madame Tussauds wax museum. Another exciting spot was Brouwerij 't IJ, a small brewery located under the Amsterdam’s biggest windmill.

Dutch windmill pub
Brouwerij 't IJ, a Dutch brewery
Windmill Experience

Talking about mills, during my short stay I made it to Zaanse Schans, a neighborhood in the Netherlands that is famous for its windmills and wooden houses that were relocated here from other regions for preservation. Every windmill and house in the area is a small museum that introduce the Dutch life and household of the 17-18th centuries.


Dutch windmill
Zaanse Schans
Local Food

There's no rose without a thorn – during my visit I really struggled to find a place with nice local cuisine. When several years later I discussed this with a professional food blogger from the Netherlands, he confessed that he also struggled to find such places in Amsterdam. Luckily, as you may know from my post about Poland, I adore herring which is the Netherland’s specialty. After a couple of unsuccessful attempts with local cafes, I sticked to consuming herring and going to an Italian restaurant.


Plans to Revisit

Since that trip in 2012 I never came back the Netherlands which makes me sad because there is yet a lot to discover in Amsterdam and other Dutch cities. I had a revisit planned for 2020 but it was cancelled due to covid. However, I don’t lose hope and believe that a new Dutch adventure awaits me.


girl in a garden

27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Anchor 2
bottom of page